Meet the UAE’s Dr Dolittle

Meet Angie Antonick, the UAE’s very own Dr Dolittle. Angie is a true free spirit and you can feel it in the air even before she says a single word. The litmus test is easy. Any animal that meets her, loves her instantly. I first met Angie when she asked me if I wanted to babysit a newborn donkey. Yes, you heard that right. Before I knew it, we were friends and I was embarking on epic adventures led by this fireball of energy who loves nature and animals so passionately.

The last time I visited her she was living on a farm in Fujairah. So when I said let’s hang out and she said come over, that’s what I expected. Little did I know what was in store for me. Once I looked at the location pin she’d sent me, I realised that a brand new adventure was coming up. I was finally off to Hatta!

Ever since I watched this video, Hatta had been at the top of my travel list. I set off, my heart pounding with excitement! I arrived at Hatta Wadi Hub and was surprised to see so many cool activities in one place. This spot is adventure utopia! Rent a mountain bike or hike Hatta’s rolling peaks at your own pace. You can also try archery, axe-throwing, zorbing (where you’ll roll downhill inside a giant transparent ball), or a huge 12m-high water slide where you can practise your flips. But the hidden gem in Hatta is the newly opened Hatta Art Hub.

Once you’ve tried all the adventure sports, if you look carefully, you will spot Hatta Art Hub nestled in the hills. Make your way up and your jaw will drop in amazement when you see the boutique art museum hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the city. You’ll meet animals here who will fast become your second family. You can try yoga and meditation in the most beautiful location anyone could ever imagine. This is also the perfect spot for artists looking for inspiration. They even offer Artists in Residence programmes for those creative souls who feel like staying a bit longer. I’m not going to spoil this adventure for you by telling you too much. Just remember to ask Angie to show you her secret spot if you ever visit Hatta.

PS: If you spot this magic bus, you know you’re heading the right way.

Leave a comment